Introduction to the Chakras

in Apr 16, 2024

Chakras – they’re a key part of the Kundalini Yoga Practice but can be a bit of a daunting subject for newbies, but they’re not as complicated as they seem! It’s all about focusing on important centers of the body, and what they are associated with. Paying attention to specific areas and their personal associations without distraction or over-complication aids us in developing these areas. Developing these areas (and choosing which you need most) provides us with the tools to enhance our own wellbeing.

Starting off – From the Bottom

1 Root Chakra

The root chakra is located at the tailbone/coccyx. Representing our connection and grounding to the earth, when we focus on this Chakra we are guiding our energy towards our stability and security. Imagine the root Chakra as your own tree roots. Focus on it when you feel you need to be brought down to earth and reconnect. The root and base of the Chakras.

2 Sacral Chakra

Connections with others and openness to new experiences are the key points of the Sacral Chakra. We guide our energy here to deal with aspects of connecting to others, sexuality and physical comfort. It’s located on the lower abdomen, just above where the band of your underwear would lay.

3 Solar Plexus Chakra

Confidence and outward direction are the heart of the Solar Plexus Chakra. We use focus on this Chakra to improve our confidence as well as our control and assertiveness. It’s located in the middle of the stomach – right where you would feel knots of anxiety and unsureness. Untie these knots by focusing on your Solar Plexus Chakra. Hesitate no more! Go for it!

4 Heart Chakra

Compassion and love are the realm of the Heart Chakra. Located in the chest just above the heart, we use our connection with this Chakra to help us give and receive compassion and love. Use your energy on this Chakra if you need to express yourself and show your love to others. The heart of the Chakra

5 Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra Governs speech and the ability to express your ideas and emotions to others. Focus on this Chakra if you’re having difficulty speaking your mind or heart to others. Confidence in expressing yourself can really boost your general wellbeing. You can find the centre of this Chakra on your throat where your Adams Apple is or would be.

6 Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra is for matters of the mind. It is in the middle of your forehead, between your eyes. If you find yourself needing to trust your intuition, think creatively or look inwards for answers, the Third Eye Chakra is the one to focus on.

7 The Crown Chakra

Finally, the Crown Chakra – the highest Chakra that encompasses spiritual connectivity. It’s directly on top of the head at the topmost point of the body. Also, the Crown Chakra can include matters of beauty (whether inside or out) and how we appear to others. Focus on this Chakra if you are finding meditating more difficult recently, or if you are having insecurities with your appearance. Also focus on it if you’re looking for wellbeing of the spirit as well as the mind.

That’s it! Think on your Chakras and see if it’s for you!